Edgar County Illinois

    Edgar County was formed out of Clark County in 1823 and named for John Edgar, an Irish-born officer in the Royal Navy who resigned rather than fight against the Americans in the Revolutionary War.


    Edgar County comprises 628 square miles in East Central Illinois.


    The 2010 U.S. Census reported our population at 18,576; and, of that number, there are approximately 13,000 registered voters.


    The County is comprised of 15 Townships and 29 Precincts with 10 polling locations.